News · Kratz (’15) Makes ODAC All-Leage and Helps Bridgewater Advance to First NCAA Tournament

Read full article by Bridgewater Eagles HERE

BRIDGEWATER, Va. – The Bridgewater women’s soccer team is going to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament for the first time in program history.

The Eagles received one of the 20 at-large Pool C bids available as announced by the NCAA selection committee Monday. Bridgewater will travel to Westerville, Ohio to play in the Otterbein University pod. The Eagles will play Hope College in the opening round while Otterbein plays Dominican (Ill.)

The Eagles finished the season with a 15-3-2 overall record and are one of three ODAC programs to make the field. Lynchburg, the ODAC’s automatic qualifier, will host a pod while Virginia Wesleyan will be playing in the Swarthmore pod.

Hope College, the Eagles’ opening opponent, received an at-large bid after losing to Adrian 1-0 in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association title game. The Flying Dutch won the MIAA regular season title for the third consecutive season and enter the tournament with a 14-2-2 record. Hope is ranked No. 17 in the nation in the latest United Soccer Coaches Top 25.

Otterbein won the Ohio Athletic Conference tournament title with a 1-0 overtime victory over Ohio Northern. The Cardinals carry a 16-2-1 record into NCAA play.

Dominican (Ill.) defeated Illinois Tech 1-0 to win the Northern Athletic Collegiate Conference title. The Stars are 18-2 entering the national tournament.

Read full ODAC All-League article HERE

ODAC Player of the Year: Caitlin Mertens, Sr., F, Lynchburg
ODAC Coach of the Year: Dr. Todd Olsen, Lynchburg
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Hanna Randolph, Fr., M, Bridgewater
ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Maddie Burns, Sr., M, Randolph-Macon

Bailey Kratz + Sr. F Bridgewater
Caitlin Mertens * Sr. F Lynchburg
Gabby Nelson Jr. F Randolph-Macon
Emily Yergin * Jr. F Shenandoah
Hanna Randolph Fr. M Bridgewater
Kennedy Jakubek ^ Sr. M Lynchburg
Casey Kent ^ So. M Randolph-Macon
Megan Engeland ^ Sr. M Washington and Lee
Katie Waring Sr. D Lynchburg
Lexi Mallory ^ Sr. D Randolph-Macon
Ann Marie Moffett Sr. D Virginia Wesleyan
Erin Hoeh So. D Washington and Lee
Chris Martin * Jr. GK Roanoke
Hannah Olds Sr. F Lynchburg
Marli Hayward Jr. F Virginia Wesleyan
Caroline Peters Sr. F Washington and Lee
Sydney von Rosenberg So. F Washington and Lee
Catherine Haufe + Jr. M Bridgewater
Lucy Perry + So. M Roanoke
Kennedi Anders Fr. M Virginia Wesleyan
Caroline Coppinger ^ Jr. M Washington and Lee
Savannah Cowan Jr. D Bridgewater
Sydney Ryan Jr. D Bridgewater
Jules Heuchan Fr. D Randolph-Macon
Ryan Applewhite Jr. D Virginia Wesleyan
Edye Carr Fr. GK Randolph-Macon
Hunter Collier So. F Bridgewater
Sara Bane So. F Randolph
Alex Davidson ^ So. F Virginia Wesleyan
Anna Pedicone * Jr. F Virginia Wesleyan
Rachel Cooke ^ Gr. M Lynchburg
Kara Rombough * Sr. M Lynchburg
Jillian Barnard Sr. M Roanoke
Rebecca Collimore + Sr. M Shenandoah
Cyan Coates So. D Bridgewater
Tate Royer Sr. D Lynchburg
Erin Flamm Fr. D Roanoke
Kristen Castle Jr. D Washington and Lee
Sydney Davis So. GK Bridgewater
* 2017 First Team
^ 2017 Second Team
+ 2017 Third Team